What’s in Vegan Chocolate?

If you love chocolate, vegan chocolate is a great choice. Many vegan chocolate makers use only plant-based sugars, which are usually unrefined. Sugars derived from sugar beets or cane are 100% vegan, but refined sugars can contain charred animal bones, which are not acceptable to vegans. Many high-end chocolatiers use sugar from sugar cane or beets instead of refined sugar.

Dark chocolate

If you are a vegan, you might be wondering whether it is possible to find dark vegan chocolate. While it is possible to find dark chocolate without dairy products, many companies add milk to their products. This can diminish the health benefits and makes the chocolate non-vegan. In addition, some dark chocolates also contain white sugar, which gets its color from bone char, a by-product of the refining process. This is not directly from animals, so it should be noted on the label.

Soy lecithin

Soy lecithin is found naturally in soy beans. However, it is processed using harsh chemical solvents and bleached to produce a light yellow color. The industrial process leaves behind toxins that are not desirable.

Refined sugar

Unlike traditional chocolate, vegan chocolate isn’t completely free of refined sugar. In fact, some brands use bone char, a carbon product that’s obtained from the bones of cattle, to manufacture refined sugar. This substance decolourises sugarcane, making it less toxic to our bodies.

Cocoa butter

Cocoa butter is an essential ingredient in vegan chocolate. It is theĀ vegan chocolate fat found in cocoa beans, and is a plant-based source of saturated and unsaturated fat. Increasing the amount of cocoa butter in chocolate increases the flavor and mouth-feel. It also contributes to the texture of the chocolate. While this ingredient has been given a bad rap in the food industry, it’s gaining more traction in cosmetics.

Bone char

Bone char is a component used in making vegan chocolate. Bone char comes from the bones of cows and is a common ingredient in some brands. This ingredient is found in some chocolate bars, but the majority of vegan chocolate bars are made with sugar that is bone char free. However, some chocolate brands use bone char for coloring purposes.


Vegan chocolate is a delicious treat that is free of dairy, egg, and other products that come from animals. It is a great alternative to conventional sweets, especially since it is healthier than traditional sweets. You can make raw vegan chocolate bars in about five minutes. These chocolate bars should be kept in the refrigerator.